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Advanced Practice Esthetician Initial Operator License Application 

3/2020 

Complete this application if you are a recent graduate of the Advanced Practice (AP) Esthetician training program. 
Submit a complete application and payment by mail or in person to the address listed above. 

Incomplete applications are returned for corrections, which will delay licensure. 
Please allow for the full processing time. 

An applicant for an AP esthetician license who holds an active esthetician or cosmetologist license must submit the following: 

 Completed Application

 Fee: $195 (processing within 15 business days) or $345 (expedited processing within 5 business days)
Checks or money orders may be made payable to Board of Cosmetology. Fees are deposited the first business day after receipt. 
Processing time begins when your application and payment are received in the Board office. 
Business days do not include weekends or state determined holidays.  
Incomplete applications will be returned and subject to additional processing upon receipt back in the Board office. 

 Original AP Esthetician Course Completion Certificate
This certificate includes your Practical Skills Test results. It must be complete, accurate, and properly notarized. 

 Original passing results from the AP Esthetician General Theory Exam
 Original passing results from the AP Esthetician Written Practical Exam

All original score reports must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year. 
To schedule written exams, contact PSI at 1-855-834-8746 or www.psiexams.com.

An applicant for an AP esthetician license who completed training for both an esthetician or cosmetologist license and an AP 
esthetician license but does not hold an active esthetician or cosmetologist license must submit everything listed above AND: 

 Original Esthetician or Cosmetologist Course Completion Certificate
This certificate includes your Practical Skills Test results. It must be complete, accurate, and properly notarized. 

 Original passing results from the Minnesota State Laws & Rules Exam
If you currently hold an active operator or salon manager license in Minnesota, you do not need to retake this exam. 

 Original passing results from the Esthetician or Cosmetologist General Theory Exam
 Original passing results from the Esthetician or Cosmetologist Written Practical Exam

All original score reports must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year. 
To schedule written exams, contact PSI at 1-855-834-8746 or www.psiexams.com.

Important: 

→ Initial training is valid for only five years.
If you do not become licensed within five years of completing training, a Skills Course Completion Certificate(s) no more than one 
year old must also be submitted with this application. Skills Course provider lists are available at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology. 

→ An AP Esthetician Operator License will supersede an Esthetician Operator License.

→ If you completed the cosmetology training program and would also like a Cosmetologist Operator License, you must apply for that
license separately with the Initial Operator License Application.

Full Name 
First, Middle, Last 

 

SSN or ITIN Date of Birth 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Street Address City, State, Zip Code 

Phone Number Email Address 

1. Applicant Information

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

For Board Office Use Only  

Amount: C/MO/R#: Application Number: 

Date Processed: Staff Initials: License Number: 

Attention: If you have recently graduated and would like to 
obtain a Salon Manager License without first obtaining an 
Operator License, you may obtain a salon manager license in your 
field without having to go through a separate application and 
payment process.  
 To do so, check here and complete the following in addition to

all applicable steps listed above:
 Take and pass the Salon Manager Exam.
 Attach the Original passing results from the Salon Manager

Exam to this application.

Attention Licensed Salon Managers: 
If you hold an active salon manager license in another field, you may 
obtain an AP esthetician salon manager license now without having to 
go through a separate application and payment process later.  
If you are an actively licensed salon manager, please enter your 
response here: 
 Yes, I want to obtain an AP esthtetician salon manager license 

immediately. Please issue a salon manager license with this
application.

 No, I do not want another salon manager license right now. Please 
issue an operator license with this application.

(full number required)
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3. Additional Applicant Information

4. Application Certification

2. School Information

1. Other than Minnesota, list all states and/or countries in which you have obtained cosmetology training. If you have been licensed in 
another state or country, you may need to apply by Transfer. Contact cosmetology@state.mn.us for information.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

2. Have you ever been the subject of any inquiry or investigation by any division of the Board of Cosmetology, or Office of 
the Attorney General? If yes, attach a detailed and signed explanation with copies of all letters of inquiry and resolution. 

 Yes

 No

3. Have you ever held a cosmetology license which has been censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated or been 
subject to any type of administrative or disciplinary action in any state including Minnesota? If yes, you must attach the
following:

 A detailed and signed explanation identifying the type of license and the circumstances of each incident.
 A copy of the Notice of Hearing or other document that states the charges and allegations.
 A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution of the charges or any final judgment.

 Yes

 No

4. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 270C.72, that you 
currently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent taxes? If yes, attach a detailed and signed explanation with
documentation from the Department of Revenue showing the debt has been paid in full or an approved payment plan is 
in process.

 Yes

 No

I certify that I am at least 17 years of age and that the information submitted within this application is true and correct.
I also certify that this document has not been altered or changed in any manner from the form adopted by the Board of
Cosmetology. Further, I have read and acknowledge receiving the Tennessen Warning.

 Applicant Signature: ___________________________________________________     Date: ___________________ 

TENNESSEN WARNING: The information you as an individual provide on this application will be used by the Board to assess your qualifications for licensure. It may also be used to determine whether you have violated any statutes or rules the Board is 
empowered to enforce. You are not legally required to complete this application; however, if you fail to do so, the Board will be unable to process this application or issue a license. If the information provided shows a violation of any statutes or rules 
enforced by the Board, you may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board including the assessment of civil penalties. Using fraud or deception to obtain a license may be used as a basis for disciplinary action. Further, if you choose to apply, Minnesota 
Statutes § 270C.72, subd. 4 requires that you provide your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number for the purpose of identifying individuals owing delinquent taxes. Upon the Minnesota Department of Revenue’s request, the 
Board must provide it with a list of all applicants, including their name, address, business name and address, and social security number or individual taxpayer identification number. 

Except for your name and address, application information on individuals is private data while the application is pending and generally will not be disclosed outside of the Board and its staff. In circumstances authorized or required by law, however, the 
information may be disclosed to others, including the Attorney General’s Office, the Minnesota Department of Revenue, the state or legislative auditor, persons contacted for purpose of verification or investigation, and persons who obtain a court order to 
receive the information. After issuance of a license, the information provided, except your social security number and any nondesignated addresses becomes public data and may be released to anyone upon request. 

School Name Advanced Practice Esthetician Training 

School Location (City) Total Hours Completed 

Program Start Date 

mm/dd/yyyy 

Program Completion Date 

mm/dd/yyyy 

Additional Program Type 
(if not already licensed)             Esthetician      Cosmetologist School Name 

Total Hours Completed School Location (City) 

Program Start Date 

mm/dd/yyyy 

Program Completion Date 

mm/dd/yyyy 

You, as a licensee, will be responsible for the following: 

 License Renewal: 

Your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in the third year of your license cycle. If you fail to renew on or before that 
date, your license will expire and you will not be eligible to work. Late fees will be applied to any license that is not renewed on time. 
Current renewal requirements and applications are available at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology. 

 Verification of Salon License

If you are working in a salon, it is your duty to ensure it has a current license. 

 Compliance with Laws and Rules 

As a licensee, you are responsible for ensuring compliance with all applicable laws and rules. Civil penalties of up to $2,000 per 
violation can be assessed to you, to your Designated Licensed Salon Manager, and/or to the salon for not following laws and rules 
established by the Board. 

 Notice of Changes 

If you change your legal name or address, you must notify the Board within 30 days of the change. Address changes may be completed 
online at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology. Name changes must be reported by completing a Name Change Form and submitting it to the 
Board office by mail or in person with proper documentation and fee payment required by Minnesota Statutes Section 155A.25. Per 
Minnesota Rule 2105.0190, subpart 2, a cosmetology license in your former name is invalid as of the 31st day of your new legal name. 

Licensee Responsibility 
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